Need to get lucky…

I just returned back from a week long vacation.  Our family spent a few days with my mother-in-law in Ocean City Maryland – then my two sons and I headed North to New Jersey to visit my parents who live in a small town on the bay side to Long Beach Island.  I fished my favorite haunt while in Ocean City – “stinky beach” as it was once known – and had only one small fluke (summer flounder) follow my half-and-half clouser.  Apparently the fluke fishing in the bay does not get really good until August when the mullet are in the bay.  The story was pretty much the same in NJ.  I visited Barnegat Bay Outfitters, where the owner, Adam, told me the “weakies” (weakfish, aka sea trout) had not shown up in Barnegat Bay yet, but were due any time.  He suggested I fish for stripers in the inlet using a sink tip line and dark or chartreuse deceivers.  I opted out of fly fishing and tried my luck on the Doris Mae and Miss Barnegat Light for fluke and bluefish and both were a total bust.  We caught a lot of skates while fluke fishing and only my nephew, Jake, was able to land one “short” fluke.  My Dad, who admittedly has no skill, killed the flatties last year and won the pool.  No such luck for the grand padre this year.  The bluefish were spawning and the fishing was really hit or miss the last few weeks.  I took a night trip that saw only a few cocktail blues caught.  Apparently the adults were too caught up in the heat of the moment to raid the chum slick.  I didn’t catch anything but did have a few short hits, indicated by small mouth-sized chunks torn out of my butterfish.  Tomorrow I will try to find my mojo in the West Branch of the Delaware.  The smallie fishing will have to wait as the Suskie, Big T, and Chenagno rivers are all high and murky from the rains last week.  It will be quite an adjustment going from 25 lb test mono and 5/0 hooks to 5X tippet and a size 18 soft hackle BWO!  Tight lines…

The 3 amigos looking to bring home the bacon.  The little guy in the center caught the only fluke and was high hook on skates...

The 3 amigos looking to bring home the bacon. The little guy in the center caught the only fluke and was high hook on skates...

The Fluke Head Council.  Grand padre (the big guy on the left) won the pool last year but this year lost his mojo...

The Fluke Head Council. Grand padre (the big guy on the left) won the pool last year but this year lost his mojo...

2 Responses to “Need to get lucky…”

  1. who is the little guy in the middle of the 3 amigo’s picture?

  2. stflyfisher Says:

    Dan – that’s my nephew Jake. He’s turning out to be quite the fisherman.

Leave a Reply

