Stilesville saves the day.

Flows spiked from a band of thunderstorms last night

Flows spiked from a band of thunderstorms last night

Woke up this morning to the disturbing chart above.  Notice the spike after midnight July 11th.  A band of thunderstorms passed through last night and some heavy rain fell across the southern tier and the Catskills.  After swilling down 2 cups of coffee, I decided to venture forth anyhow, but after crossing a high and discolored Oquaga Creek and then seeing a murky river at Hale Eddy, I knew there was only one other choice – the Stilesville fishing access above Deposit.  The river there, above the junction with Oquaga Creek, was pretty close to gin-clear and COLD.  I didn’t take a temperature reading, but I’m guessing temps were in the low 40’s.  My legs and feet numbed to the point where I probably looked like a drunk sailor as I waded the river.

The beautiful West Branch of the Delaware above Deposit, NY.

The beautiful West Branch of the Delaware above Deposit, NY.

As I fished to rising browns, I couldn’t help but hear the distinctive calls of fledgling bald eagles as they goaded their mother (or father) to feed them.  There’s a very tall white pine along the far shore that has a nest high up in it the size of a jacuzzi.  Near the nest, a distinctive mature bald eagle perched, seemingly ignoring 2 circling fledglings.

A towering white pine, a beautiful place to raise a family of eagles...

A towering white pine, a beautiful place to raise a family of eagles...

Later in the day I witnessed mother (or father) bringing home something in its talons.  The two mottled fledglings followed the parent into the nest and cajoled and nagged for food.

A downfall of trees on the far shore was home to some hungry browns...

A downfall of trees on the far shore was home to some hungry browns...

I fished the far bank and missed setting the hook on two good fish that rose to my tan caddis.  I did end up landing one diminutive brown, a 6″ youngster with beautiful spots and a game attitude.  It was good to be on the river…

2 Responses to “Stilesville saves the day.”

  1. you cannot see the ‘honeyhole’ from here, but your getting warmer!

    • stflyfisher Says:

      Thanks for the comment Dan! I guess I’ll need to take more pictures upstream and downstream!

Leave a Reply

