A Look Back – A Look Ahead…

I spent Saturday at Nazareth College in Rochester, visiting the collegiate dadre, soaking up the mild weather and the last of the fall colors.  I was back home Saturday night, and after going into work on Sunday and then doing some “leaf-plowing” at the expansive STFF homestead, I decided the time had come to see if the bass were in the mood to eat.  Pondward I headed…

PA250063

A nice westerly breeze made for a good drift along the far shallow shore...

The pond water was on the cool side for bass at 52 degrees, so I shed the popper and tied on a rust-colored, unweighted wooley bugger, and paddled out to the shallow end of the pond and let a westerly breeze push me  parallel to the shore like a slow rolling trolling motor.  Casting the bugger to the sunny shallows, I let it drift along, barely stripping it.  It wasn’t long before I picked up some bass – little and feisty and fat.  I continued the drifting cycle and as the sun started to set, the bass got a little more aggressive.  I caught a half dozen 12 inchers – and lost one big guy that fought like a drunken sailor at first and then woke up and zipped up and down the shoreline before the hook pulled.  Considering the pond temperature, the bass were indeed, still in the mood…

PA250064

Pond-side maple - late to shed its gold...

The first two days of the week have been on the warm side – tugging at the hearts of the STFF staff as they toil away in corporate ivory towers.  Last night the rains started.  The rest of the week looks very wet and cooler – spelling “possibilities” if you’ve got your eyes on the Finger Lake tribs…

curwx_600x405

Ugggleeee...

Fall Creek has more water in it as a result of some rain last week…

USGS.04234000.01.00060.2009.20091021.20091028.1.0.p50.gif

Fall Creek is finally filling up...

We’ll cross our fingers that we get enough rain and some cold to send a strong signal to the landlocks and browns – “come on up”…

Tight lines…

 

One Response to “A Look Back – A Look Ahead…”

  1. I live about 20 mintues from Pittsford, can I talk to you via email ? my email is drifly@gmail.com, I have some questions about somethings on your site and how to put such things on my site, ie: fishing reports.

Leave a Reply

