Ida – Not Ideal

Here at STFF headquarters, the plans for a great bluefish / striper weekend were well underway.  The forecast for the Barnegat Light, NJ, area was ideal, up until Wednesday evening.  Granted, this trip is a bit of a departure from my normal fly fishing fare.  I’m not accomplished enough in the salt, nor do I own a boat, to really “assault the salt” with feathers.  Instead, I generally fall back on the mono with jigs or bait.  Ardent fly fishers – give me a few more seasons, and the hardware will go…

Anywhoooooo, I was pumped for a long weekend, until I decided to check the weather Wednesday night, just before I began gearing up.  What I found got me down, big time…

map_spectrop01_ltst_6nh_enus_600x405

Enough to make you bite the cyanide capsule...

Horrified, I called STFF field headquarters in Barnegat, NJ and learned it was all true.  The Grandpadre – my Dad – said the winds were very strong out of the northeast – 25 to 35 mph – and gusting to 60 mph.  A classic Nor’easter spells really rough seas and bad fishing.  After swigging at my martini on the rocks, I gained my composure, and announced the trip was dead.  Grandpadre did not disagree…

map_spectrop06_ltst_6nh_enus_600x405

Today's confirmation...

I checked again today, and the weather continues to deteriorate.  Thanks to Ida, and a stubborn high pressure system, the mid-Atlantic is taking a pounding.  The party boats in Barnegat Light are surely not venturing out and who knows how long this will impact the great fall migration of hungry stripers and blues…

I guess I’ll need to look north – to the tribs.  The flows on Fall Creek are mighty thin, and the temps have been so-so.  Not sure what will develop for the weekend, but I’ll keep my eye out…

Tight lines…

Leave a Reply

