2010 Goals

It’s been a pattern of mine for years – spending a part of New Years Day camped out in a comfortable chair – fire softly burning in the fireplace – bourbon on the rocks or a dry gin martini within arm’s reach – and putting pen to paper, inking out my plan for the year ahead.

"Let's see, goal number one, improve shelter..."

Don’t get me wrong – this is not some quick exercise completed in one sitting – it is the final draft of a plan I start formulating well before the end of each year.  I start with the big picture, or as Stephen Covey would put it, “begin with the end in mind” – and gradually break my goals down into reasonable objectives for the year ahead.  It’s a cherished process, and one that causes me to not only herald accomplishments, but recognize failures.  Best of all, it helps me, in Stephen Covey’s words, to “be proactive”.  By acting positively on past failures, I choose to respond rather than react.  Put another way, I can gripe and wail about not being able to cast well, OR, I can recognize my shortfalls and do something about them…

While I do this for all areas of my life, I thought I’d publish my goals in terms of my one and only avocation – fly fishing.  And so with great fanfare, I list them below:

1) Purchase and set up an 8 weight fly fishing rig (fly rod / reel / line) for Finger Lake and Great Lakes tribs.

2) Catch the following “firsts” on the fly; a steelhead, lake trout, and a bluefish, striped bass, or weakfish.

3) Begin fly tying – focus on the Picket Pin, Wooly Bugger, and Egg and Worm Patterns.

4) Float fish the Susquehanna; a) Binghamton to Vestal Park, b) Vestal Park to Campville, and c) Campville to Owego

5) Practice and improve my casting distance and accuracy.  Learn to single haul and double haul.

6) Purchase my PA fishing license and explore, fish, and learn PA creeks and rivers.

7) Learn and use the following knots:  Non-Slip Mono Knot, Palomar Knot, Improved Turtle Knot, and Perfection Loop.  Learn to tie my own leaders.

So how about your fly fishing goals?  Have you thought about how you could be a better fly fisherman in 2010?  Take the time now, while Mother Nature is deep in sleepy snow, and jot down a few ideas.

Can you hear the bass snoring back there???

Mull them over between swigs of whiskey if you will.  Keep coming back to them over the next few weeks and refine and rethink them, until your list is something that inspires you.  Believe me, you’ll be happy for it when 2011 rolls around…

Tight Lines, and Happy New Year…

11 Responses to “2010 Goals”

  1. Those are some nice objectives. Good luck to you!

  2. Just let me know when you want your first flytying lesson…

    I’ll have you tying SJW’s and bugger within 60 minutes! A picket pin after the bugger…

    Good luck on your goals. I have a good goal. To get you fishing with us down in Pee-Aye! I hope it happens!

  3. Some of my goals:

    1. Take steps to becoming certified casting instructor (the first of which would be to take some casting lessons). I want to be able to teach people to fly-cast with confidence. Being self-taught, I’m sure I have some casting quirks that aren’t the best and I wouldn’t want to pass them on.

    2. Spend some time making fly-fishing art. I used to paint and draw a little – but I haven’t in a while. I’d like to get started again.

    3. Do more warm-water fly fishing (largemouth, bluegill, carp, etc.). I don’t take advantage of the local warmwater fisheries.

  4. stflyfisher Says:

    Anthony – thanks for your comment and for stopping by my blog. I too would eventually like to become a certified casting instructor at some point, but also need to iron out some bad habits from being self-taught. Brown-lining, as they call it can be a lot of fun, particularly in the rivers. You never know what you’re going to hook into! Good luck with your goals! Bob

  5. OK, a bit slow, but I haven’t set any goals yet.

    My main goal: to breathe, just breathe. In, then out. Breathe it all in–all the fly fishing and beauty of the earth. Bask in it.

    Specifics:

    1. The big goal is a trip to the southwest for some Gila trout, Apache trout and Rio Grande cutthroat trout (my fishing buddy and I have talked about it, but not quite sure it’s going to happen).

    2. The usual fishing in Idaho, Wyoming, Montana and Utah. Probably some new places in each of those states, and some familiar as well.

    3. Tie at least 50 flies. (I’ve tied for 20 years, but I’m in no way prolific–just enough to get the job done as needed.)

    4. Work on photographing people fishing. I’m kind of tired of taking fish shots (only so many poses for a fish). And I don’t really do the “grip-n-grin” shots. I’d like to work on some shots of anglers in the landscape kind of thing.

    5. Purchase an inexpensive rod/reel combo (<$100) for a year's worth of fishing only that rig (just to prove that you don't have to get all fancy and expensive to join the ranks of the fly fishing club).

    • stflyfisher Says:

      Hey Scott – thanks for the comment!

      Like your take on goals. We’ll have to weigh in at the end of the year. Gila trout – I’d like some pics of those shy guys!

      Let me know what budget rig you go with – sounds like that could make for some great “recession” blog material!

      Tight lines…

  6. Senior STFF Support Staff Says:

    Nice set of goals, I can help out in fullfilling them.

    Also, like your porch view. Nice picture….

    • stflyfisher Says:

      Hey Dan – thanks for stopping by! I could use the help with the PA fishing – I’m looking forward to some good trips to Pine Creek, Kettle Creek, and any other good water you can come up with. I’ll pack the lunch – you put me on the fish! Tight lines…

Leave a Reply

